Lorelai Blue

Autumn Sweater

While waiting to find suitable yarn to finish my crochet dress I’ve been making quite a few other things. One of them is this autumn-colored simple chevron-patterned sweater.

chevron2

Here’s the pattern I used. It’s a basic top-down sweater worked in the round, so it was easy to alter a bit as I went. I did end up altering the pattern quite a lot too: after about 6th row I started crocheting to the back loop only to bring out the chevron pattern. I also didn’t see the point of turning after each row when working in the round anyway, so I stopped doing that too. When I came to the armholes  I swayed from the pattern again: instead of changing for a bigger hook and simply dividing stitches to form the bodice and armholes, I separated the sleeves and continued working in the round making one extra pattern repeat under each armhole (10 ch). I also really liked the sleeve length I had then so I left the sleeves a t-shirt length.

chevron3

The Yarn I used was a cheap acrylic, but I think it suits the sweater quite well! I used a 5mm and 5.5mm hooks. After I figured out how to alter the sweater pattern to give more room tor the bust it was finished really quickly. I mostly crocheted this on my way to school – it’s amazing how much crocheting can be achieved on your morning commutes when each trip takes about an hour.

chevron4

These photographs were taken by my mother. I like them all so much I decided to dump all my favorites here!

Have a very warm and cozy autumn, everyone!

chevron5

 

This entry was published on October 12, 2014 at 5:29 pm. It’s filed under crochet, photography, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Autumn Sweater

  1. Just find you on Raverly.What a gorgeous blog!
    Greetings from Italy 🙂
    Tajana

Leave a Reply

