Lorelai Blue

Crochet Dress Progress

As mentioned in the End of Holiday Update, I started to crochet a dress last summer. It’s an Anthropologie-inspired crochet dress and I found the charts for the motifs via the Outdtanding Crochet blog.

crochetdress2

Here’s how it’s looking like now! The motifs are quite large (about 15 x 15 cm each) so bodice came together quite quickly. I like working with motifs, especially when you can join them as you go. I’m generally not a huge fan of boxy-shaped garments though (which is what joining square-shaped motifs would result in), so I gave the bodice a bit of bust shaping in the side seams by adding an extra row to the sides of the top motifs.

crocherdress1

The yarn I’m using is an old mystery cotton yarn I got from my friend. I was happily crocheting along thinking I had two boxes of the yarn, and when I was about to run out found out that the other box contained a totally different type of yarn! What a bummer. I love how the dress is looking like so far, and would love to be able to finish it. If I can’t find a matching yarn from the yarn stores I’ll just have to keep my eyes open on flea markets. You do see these kinds of yarns there every once and a while!

IMG_5908

Universum: I neede more of this, please!

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on October 5, 2014 at 2:52 pm. It’s filed under crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Crochet Dress Progress

  1. ooh, looks really nice! Can’t wait to see what the end result will be like! πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, that is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

